Local Emergency Planning Committee


The Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) is a collaborative effort by private companies, community members, and local agencies to provide public information, establish coordinated procedures, and develop emergency response plans in response to health, environmental, industrial, or public safety crisis affecting residents of McPherson County.

The Committee is composed of elected officials, police, fire, medical, civil defense, public health, environmental, hospital, and transportation professionals, as well as representatives of community groups, media, and businesses subject to emergency planning requirements and/or responsibilities. Clicking DIRECTORY will let you see specific organizations and contacts of the LEPC.

LEPC was established per a Kansas State Commission which set McPherson County a Local Emergency Planning District pursuant to the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986 (SARA) enacted by Congress into law on October 17, 1986.